So - I wanted to do a post about business appropriate work items for people who like to dress with a bit of edge. Now let me be clear, these aren't just for people who are dressing all in black to look more grown up or to be more intimidating. These are people who are, perhaps, goth in their personal style or otherwise like to look tough or edgy in their style. Now - much of what I post here would normally fit the "ladylike" or even "girly" side of the coin. And I'm not going to recommend studded belts or collars for work (which I know you wouldn't wear unless you work in a VERY creative field) - but I'm going to suggest some edgier work wear items to be paired with otherwise neutral items to allow you, my little gothic lovlies, to slip some of your edgy soul into your work wear without scaring the puppy-shirt loving office administrator or the 70-year-old managing partner.  
Tracy Reese Brocade Pencil Skirt at Neiman Marcus ($90 - so I clicked on this because I liked the skirt but then I liked the sweater with leather sleeves too.  I think a brocaded burgundy skirt like this is sort of sneaky edge; a bit vintage  but cool if paired with a very modern top - like here with leather. I really like this version; not too much like a couch cushion and a lovely color.)
Marc New York by Andrew Marc Black Sheath Dress with piping at Nordstroms ($138 - love the piping here - not only would it be great for women with longer or mid-length waists to emphasize their shapes, but it takes a plain black dress and adds interest without making it work inappropriate.  Also the shape is a bit different but not crazy. With a cropped jacket in any color this would be great for work.)
ASOS Pants in Wide Leg in Berry at ASOS ($34.99 - these are maybe questionable, but I love the idea of these with a wide, black leather belt and a black or contrasting shirt and then a long, beaded statement necklace [or the Boden military blazer right below this!].  Usually berry isn't an "edgy" color, but I think the combination of the palazzo cut and hard styling could make this an exciting outfit, you know?)
Fitzrovia Jacket in navy with white piping at Boden ($98 - "Military style" blazers are all over the place right now, but I like the piping and color of this one, which keeps it from being *too* casual or military. I think the ones that are military khaki green are too casual and some of the more super structured ones are a little hard to wear for a lot of women who aren't petite - this would look nice on lots of shapes and is nice.)
Gliding on Style Top at ModCloth ($47.99 - I don't usually love peplum, but if you paired this with a black pencil skirt and a bright colored pendant necklace and fabulous earrings and heels and...god...curvy women would look amazing.  Anyway - seriously cool.)
Antonio Melanie Rikki Pinstripe Waistcoat at Dillard's ($119 - I am of the opinion that everyone should wear waistcoats.  Wear it with a silk blouse and then a looser pair of trousers. Or get the matching pants and have an androgynous day or a colored pencil skirt and show off your butt.  Either way, if it fits right, everyone loves a good waistcoat and you can pretend to be Tom Hiddleston or Matt Bomer for the day.)
Fashion Star Pencil Skirt with Leather Appliques by Daniel Silverstein at Saks Fifth Avenue ($150 - leather skirts are very trendy, but I think leather pencil skirts may not be work appropriate but I think some of the pencil skirts with leather detailing are exceptions. Just a leather waistband though are no fun - this one is FUN. Paired with a burgundy blouse or blazer and black heels - this would be beautiful. I actually wouldn't pair it with a black shirt so that the leather can shine.)
Cooper & Ella Crochet Trim Blouse in black at Piperlime ($89 - okay there are a million black blouses in the world - but I like the crochet detail on the shoulders of this one - adding a little difference. Also, the soft way it hangs, and the v-neck is a nice cut but isn't too low.)
4.collection black and gray printed flare dress at Saks Fifth Avenue ($298 - I hope this dress would be longer on women of average height - but I love that this is an A-line dress but not girly - which they often are. Add a fitted black or gray blazer and maybe a gray leather belt and whatever color shoes your mind can imagine and you've got a great look. Plus this is practically made for dramatic jewelry.)
Ann Klein Faux Leather Skirt in tan ($49 - limited sizes - I think this is one of the exceptions to the general rule against leather pencil skirts are inappropriate for work because it is so neutral and simple.  Another exception are a-line leather skirts, like this one that Banana Republic used to have.  I think the key is that the skirts not be too tight, not be black [black being very "biker" for some reason] and that the skirt and styling be as neutral as humanly possible.)
Mural Faux Leather Vest at Nordstroms ($52.26 - okay - not really work appropriate, though it comes in white and you might be able to get away with that, but these are so in right now I wanted to share it.  I'd wear a red or navy long sleeve henley tee under it with black skinny jeans and moto boots or flats (depending how "hard core" you want to look) with maybe some brightly colored bangles to add osme color to it.)
Jack Rogers Red/Black Carla Pointed Toe Flat at Neiman Marcus Last Call ($90.30) and Melissa Closed-Toe Slip-Ons ($76) - I think both of these shoes are fantastic honestly.  So I've gone for red and black obviously, but you don't need to.  You can go with just black if you want to - hey - if you're rich, how about these spiked Christian Louboutins?  The black and gold trend in shoes is also great - or the striped trend.  Whatever works best for you.
Grotto Long Frontal Necklace at Nordstrom ($38 - I like this, comes in lots of colors so you don't HAVE to stick with black or dark blue (;-P) and I like the addition of gold for a little shine.  The longer length of necklace would look great with a lot of the looks above especially the dresses, the vest, and the peplum top - though the peplum top might loop a bit better with a true pendant like this.
So - what do you think readers - do any of you have an edgier look?  Are these things you would wear?  What do you think - other than my love of skulls, I'm not particularly edgy (one of my skull scarfs is sea foam green - you can't really consider me to be hard core whatsoever....I find my love of skulls to be generally ironic.)  Leave some comments in the comments sections (and if you don't know where that is, click the link in the title and go through to the post's main page and look at the bottom of the screen!  Don't worry, your e-mail won't show up.)
6/14/2013 06:53:13 am

I'm not a goth, but I love this. Great post!

Reply
Kerry
6/15/2013 12:36:43 am

LOVE IT ALL. I'm trying to resist buying that brocade skirt.

Reply



Leave a Reply.