Reader ET wrote in a really long time ago and asked:

Hi! I'm looking for a nice crochet lace dress, preferably with a fitted waist and short sleeves. There's a lot of lace out there right now but nothing that seems quite right. A contrast with the underlay isn't absolutely necessary, but I don't like all white/cream. Cream lace with black/navy/purple underlay, or some dark lace in general would probably be the ideal. I love the black crochet lace with cream underlay of this dress: Wilfred Quai Dress  the only issue it being a bodycon that I struggle to get myself into. It's a bit pricier than what I'd like for something I'm not sure about, but am otherwise willing to pay around that much if it's really perfect. I actually would have liked this Maitland Lace Dress from Anthro okay except that the skirt kind of fell flat. I tried it on and it just didn't do anything for me. I'm typically a size 12 if this helps at all. Sorry if I'm giving too many requirements! Thank you!
Okay, reader ET, I'm really sorry this answer is SO belated - I actually sort of hope you've found your dress already.  Or that you've successfully phoned home (I'm sorry, I couldn't help myself, literally...couldn't do it.)  Anyway - on the off-chance that you haven't - I think I've seen some good ideas out there for you.  But first, for those following along at home, here are the dresses Reader ET sent in as examples.
Picture
Click through to see actual dress with black underlay - there was no picture of it on the model.
Both of these dresses are pretty - but nothing is wildly special about them.  And I do love when retailers use "body-con" to just mean "really tight" instead of what I think it *should* mean, which is form flattering.  Ugh.  So lets get started on finding better options.
Midi Dress in Crochet Lace from ASOS ($64.49 - so the burgundy in the picture is apparently no longer available (boo), but the black version's details didn't show up well so I went with this picture instead.  I like that this is fit and flare, though its sleeveless and not contrasting, and the price is right.  I recently bought my first "midi" dress form ASOS and I surprisingly like the length, its fun and "twirly, if that makes sense.)
Eliza J Lace Cap-Sleeve Dress at Dillard's ($106.80 - available in all sizes - I like the light blue crochet with what looks like a silver lining - its not a pairing you see much.  I also like the belt to emphasize the fit and flare.  I hope its longer than it seems on this model and I also wish the pictures on Dillard's was better so we could see the details better.
Elie Tahari Lolly Dress in teal/coral at Elie Tahari ($358 - okay, so obviously this is WAY out of budget, BUT, it is also already on half off and all sizes are available at the Tahari site - so the price may drop further.  I also think it fits your needs well and when I saw it, it was so pretty I took a picture of it through the store window at the mall.) For anyone who likes this, Muse has a similar but clearly not as cool version.
Sonia Black Lace Bodycon Dress from Reiss ($230 - so this is another "splurge" i.e. out of budget dress - though slightly less dramatically so.  But I like many things about it, it has the black over cream overlay that you like.  Its bodycon, but from Reiss, so it probably means bodycon as in form flattering.  And the detailing at the waist and boob area (for lack of a better term) gives almost the effect of a belted dress without actually wearing, you know, a belt.  Perhaps it will go on sale?)
Graceful Gaiety Dress at ModCloth ($164.99 - I adore this dress and there are only two left, but hey, one is in your size ET.  I just think this dress would stand out in the best possible way - its vintage but not dated.  And the color would look AMAZING on a wide variety of skin tones.  I know its not exactly what you came here looking for - but I want to throw it in the mix.) 
Ivy & Blu for Maggy Boutique Cotton Lace Dress at Nordstroms ($178 - so its hard to tell from the picture - but the description says this dress is a lighter pink lace overlaid on a brighter pink lining. I bet it would look lovely in person.  I like the elbow-length sleeves and I'm a sucker for a boat neck.  Also, I think with a structured blazer you could probably wear it to work.  An interesting option anyway.)   
Hand Crochet Dress from Boden ($187.60 - this was one of the few truly *crocheted* dresses I could find out there - most just being lace with a crotchet like pattern.  This is the navy dress, so you can't really see the details, but click over and zoom in and the detailing in the crochet is beautiful.  I know its long sleeved, but the sleeves are fairly lightly knitted so they may stay cool for the summer.)
Suzi Chin for Maggy Boutique sleeveless A-Line dress at Zappos ($169.99 - its really a shame this one is sleeveless because its a really pretty take on this whole contrasting overlay look - the lace/crochet/cutouts are entirely different and the shape is just great.  If its not right for you Reader ET, I wonder if other of my readers might like it for summer and spring parties and events ... or Easter Sunday.  :-P)
Okay - so those are a lot of options - most of which don't precisely fit your needs but are cute anyway.  Let me know if you like them (or if you've already bought something since I'm a slowpoke.)  I hope you find something that makes your crochet loving heart go pitter-patter.  Good night and good luck.....at the mall. (God I'm such a dork, why do you all come here?)



Leave a Reply.