Reader L needs help getting ready for wedding season:

Hi TCFKAG, I am looking for two dresses - one for a rehearsal dinner and one for the wedding. I am not in the wedding, but my SO is the best man. The wedding is in July in an area where it can be quite hot and humid, though everything is thankfully inside. The rehearsal dinner is at a restaurant. The ceremony and reception are in the evening at a hotel. It is not black tie. The bride and groom are more fun than formal, but I do not want to be too casual since my SO will be in a tux. Typically, I wear black for evening weddings, but after a recent discussion on Corporette, it appears that may be bad form?! That was news to me. (Eek.) I feel like I am stuck in a wedding-guest-dress rut. I always end up buying similar things - black or navy, strapless A line or classic sheath, and recently lace. I would like something fresh, and young, and fun, and new! But I am not seeing anything online that inspires me. Could you help? I am fair skinned, so blues, pinks and greens look good on me, though I'm not opposed to other colors or prints. I think short would be better than long, but I would try either. Price range: Under $350 for the dress for the wedding, and under $150 for the rehearsal dinner dress. (Less expensive is always good!) Size: either a US 4 or 6. I am an X shape. Also, I am 32. So, I don't want to be running around in a dress that the groom's 16-year-old cousin might also wear, nor one that the bride's 60-year-old aunt might have on. Could you help inspire me? Sorry for such a long note. Love your blog, and always love your comments to the 'rettes! Thank you, L

So, first I will quickly address the whole "no black as a guest at a wedding" rule.  I think that, traditionally, it was considered bad form to wear black to a wedding, since it was the color of mourning.  But, at this point, I think it is really only the "rule" for very traditional wedding (hell, my bridesmaids wore black).  *But* - on the other hand - you're going to weddings in a hot, sticky area in the middle of the summer - might as well mix it up and add some colorful dresses to your wardrobe right?  As an initial matter, I'll direct you to this post (for red dresses - the Adrianna Papell might be lovely for the rehearsal dinner) and this post (the Kate Spade, the canary yellow Kay Unger, or the blue paisley Anne Klein would all be lovely options).  Now - for some new options just for you! 
Lauren by Ralph Lauren Print Fit and Flare Dress at Nordstroms ($149 - this would look lovely on an x-shape - maybe better for the rehearsal dinner because of the white in the print?  But given the other colors, I'm sure it would be fine for either - but I'm fairly non-traditional when it comes to wedding guest wear.)
Lauren by Ralph Lauren Knotted Jersey A-Line Dress at Nordstroms ($130 - I love this color and it would pair great with gold and turquoise jersely - seriously - beautiful gold sandals and turquoise jewelry [like this maybe] would look amazing.  Probably for the rehearsal dinner but would also work for the wedding - depending how nice the jersey is.)
Donna Rico Print Cotton Fit and Flare Dress ($88 - I like this pattern - and the price is right.)
Ksenia Printed A-Line Dress by BCBG ($298 - a little pricey but I love the pleated look and the colors are fresh.)
Eliza J. Dress, One Shoulder Beaded Satin Cocktail Dress at Macy's ($168 - satin is taste specific but this is pretty.)
Feather after Dress at Modcloth ($89.99 - pretty print - but reviews say to order a size up.)
Cynthia Steffe Lida Color Block Crepe Dress at Bloomingdale's ($148.50 - a sheath with little something different).
Haute Hippie Sequin Asymmetric Drape Dress at Shopbop ($238.50 - this is different than most sequin dresses - I like it.)
Summer Bouquet Sundress at White House Black Market ($160 - I have a very similar dress to this from WHBM and I love it - beautiful shape and nicely constructed.  Great for weddings, fun to twirl in.)

So!  Hope these ideas help.  Let me know if they don't work and hope they expand your idea range.  And a reminder - if you decide to buy any of these - click the link and buy them through here.  That would be awesomesauce!!
Wedding Guest L
5/15/2013 06:09:23 am

Thank you, TCFKAG!! These are some great suggestions. I really like the pink fit and flare one for the rehearsal dinner. I think the purple satin one is a good option for the wedding. The others seem too casual to me. I will let you know what I end up going with! Thanks for getting to my question so quickly!

Reply



Leave a Reply.