On the weekends I like to work a little rustic* charm into my wardrobe, especially in my jewelry.  And I was inspired by this beautiful Wearable Art Beaded "Eurocuff" Bracelet from Etsy seller fish bay sunsets ($45) to look for other beaded bracelets and necklaces for the weekends that give off this chunky, rustic vibe.  What do you think readers?  Am I coo-coo for cocoa puffs with these?
Orange Agate and Brass Necklace by Jewelryaccessible in LA ($65 - I adore the colors of this necklace.  ADORE.)
Agate Dangle Earrings in Green and Tan by CopperNichols in Ohio ($14 - neutral enough for daily wear.)
Hammered Copper Cuff by SeventhWillow in Arizona ($59 - I like this, it has more depth and texture than commercially available hammered cuffs.)
Yellow Jade with copper hoop earrings by JensBeadBox in Texas ($22 - these are gorgeous.  Jesus.)Natural Amber Necklace with several amber types by Karuba in Poland ($161 - a bit expensive and the pictures aren't great - but it does look lovely and I'm a total sucer for natural amber - plus the seller has good reviews.)
Rustic linen necklace with robins egg blue beads from Boorashka in Ukraine ($22 - a more delicate take on rustic, but still very pretty - 219 positive user reviews.)
Beer quartz faceted earrings on a copper floral medallion by JensBeadBox in Texas ($18 - love the design, might switch out the color of the quartz.)
*So, you may notice that rustic might mean something different to me than it means to me.  To me it means the use of natural stones or glass beads that approximate the look of natural stones with traditional metals or materials - especially copper or brass or hammered silver or pewter or rhodium - basically your darker metals are all good.)  I tend to not like things that go for the tribal or exotic look - partially because I think they are frequently a pale (and sometimes unfortunate) imitation and partially because I don't want to be seen as appropriating a culture I am not a member of.  I also don't really consider Steampunk hipster - I would LOVE to do a whole steampunk post - and probably will in the future, but I think that's its own aesthetic viewpoint that's separate from what I was doing here.  So..yeah.  Lots of words meaning basically nothing.  :-)

What do you think rustic means?  Did I get it right?  Leave a texty text in the comments!



Leave a Reply.