Reader Jenny Dictatrix (JD for short) is bedeviled by her search for interesting knit pencil skirts:

Hi TCFKAG, I have been trying to hunt down a knee-length jersey knit skirt for summer that goes a little bit beyond boring basics. I have one in from Target in black and white stripe that I wear all the time, and I'd love to have another option in that same style. My current skirt is slightly full with a fold-over waist, which I like but isn't necessary. Ideally I'd like to find something in cool geometric print - something that reads a little more city than beach, if that makes sense. I looked at Target B&M store, Splendid, American Apparel, and Alternative Apparel with no luck. Any ideas? <3, JennyDictatrix
So - I'm a bit unsure what shape you want - so I'll try to propose a variety of shapes including pencil skirts, a-line skirts, and things more on the drapey side.  But I'll definitely go for things with cool geometric patterns or other things that make them look more trendy and not like a swimsuit cover up.  So lets get going y'all.
U-Knit Tiered Skirt in black/white at Lord & Taylor ($40.80 - um - I LOVE this one - someone get it for me? Kay I luv you good-bye!  But seriously, the stripes and the tiers keeps this interesting and separates it from every other striped dress ... btw ... there's a dress in this same tiered, striped design available here.)
VPL Curvate Skirt with Satin Contrast Waistband at Barney's Warehouse ($99 - something about this skirt I flat out love - unfortunately its only limited sizes because I might buy it.  The striping is fairly unique and interesting, I like the colors (neutral but still cool) and it would be fun for work or fun.  I dig it.)
Women's Fold Over Jersey Skirt at Old Navy ($19.94 - comes in a bunch of colors, this is apple of my eye - this is the very casual jersey skirt for weekends that I like and these Old Navy ones have a few patters that do give it a little more formal look.  For example, I like this red one.  Or the solid navy one.  See this other ON one too.)
Printed Jersey Skirt in sunset vintage vine at Boden ($68 - so cute - also comes in gray pattern and black - I love the a-line shape and the length is perfect.  Boden is perfect for this sort of thing and has several patterned skirts that might meet your needs.  Check 'em out.)
Opening Ceremony Textured Cable Knit Pencil Skirt at Barney's Warehouse ($45 - limited sizes, final size - this is a total curveball - but it a skirt that looks like a cable knit sweater.  I think its pretty cool - though maybe more wintery?  Check it out anyway, might be worth a try.)
Vila Belted Skirt in aquatic blue at ASOS ($15.27 - limited sizes - so I generally hate this "paper bag" belted waistline that this skirt has - but the color was cute enough that I thought I'd share it.  Plus, the a-line is nice and it looks comfy.  Maybe if you wore a blazer over it, it would hide the waistband?)
Peplum Waist Skirt from White House Black Market ($39.99 - this one is, frankly, kind of a curve ball but if one were to like peplum this might be a nice option - though you'd have to be careful in styling.)
Milly Camille Pencil Skirt at ShopBop ($150 - normally I would never recommend a jersey, unlined pencil skirt that cost this much - but because of your mention of something graphic, I thought I'd post it.  It has a really cool, futuristic graphic feel to it.  Mixed with cobalt and black you would look like an astronaut lawyer but in the BEST way possible.)
Okay!  Hope one of these works for you.  I like some of them, love others of them, and some of them aren't for me.  So I bet one of them will work for almost everyone!  :-)  Yay!  I love jersey skirts for summer, there's something nice about a breathable fabric for summer (especially if its heavy enough that it doesn't show every bit of pudge.)  

Happy shopping and may the odds be in your favor.  Let me know what you buy!  Post all about it on tumblr - ha!
6/10/2013 03:37:00 am

Thank you, thank you, thank you! Guess who has three skirts on their way from Old Navy right now?

Reply



Leave a Reply.