Reader KG writes:

Hi TCFKAG! I'm attending an outdoor wedding next month that will be filled with a ton of my old high school friends. I've been searching for the perfect dress for a little while, and could use some help. I'm really looking for a 20s/Gatsby inspired dress. I found this one: Floating on Air Dress - hopefully no one buys the one medium they have left before you get a chance to answer! 

My first question is whether it's appropriate for the wedding? I'm particularly worried about the color - is it too light/close to white? If it's appropriate, how would you style it? In particular, what about shoes?

While we at it (or if it's not right for a wedding), any suggestions for similar dresses? I'm normally size small/2 and very light colored/pale. For this dress, the $50 range is really my budget because I don't think I'd wear it very much.


Before I get started with answering - here's the dress in question.
I'll answer your first question first - I think its probably fine for a wedding.  On the website it is described as "sky-blue" and it looks fairly blue here, so I think on the color you're probably safe.  In terms of appropriateness otherwise, I think its lovely - though its maybe hinging a tiny bit on the dowdy side (I wish there was another color there.)  I would definitely want to punch it up with some fun accessories and shoes to add a little bit of color and maybe even sparkle to it - but overall I think its a nice look.  So first, let me offer up some shoe possibilities and a couple of jewelry options - then I will move on to a few other similar scallop dresses for your consideration.
Enzo Aglioni Maiven Shoes at Macy's ($49.99 - I like the idea of a textured metallic - gives a little shine to the outfit while still being classic and not too crazy.)
Pour La Victoire Case Mary-Jane Pump in Teal ($39.99-$249.99 - I think a mary-jane or a t-strap pump would be a great way to reference the era of the dress without being too literal.)
Vince Camuto Lexis Pump at Designs by Stephene ($49.99 - these might be a little too high for you - and I'm not sure how you feel about the studded look - but I love the idea of a bright cobalt or navy shoe - I think a second shade of blue with this look would be awesome.)
(If you like any of these specifically but want a different, similar recommendation, let me know.)
Inlaid Hexagon Cuff at Lori's of Chicago ($36.95 - I like the idea of adding some color in a bracelet - either coordinated with the shoes or in a contrasting but still friendly color - purple would be another nice option.)
Tortoise Box Bead Necklace from Forever 21 ($9.80 - check out all their options - they have amazing sales now.)
Lacquered Twist Necklace in green and gold from Forever 21 ($6.80)

As far sa other dresses - I didn't see much that I thought was particularly good in your aesthetic and in your price range.  Readers, have you seen any similar dresses that you particularly like?  And KG if you decide not to go with this dress, come on back and I'm sure I can find you something else.  Hope these ideas help - and have fun at the wedding!
Ru
5/14/2013 12:35:15 pm

Definitely gold and amethyst jewelry. White metals would get washed out. Rose gold or bronze would be stunning. Oooohhh, rose gold with sapphire?

Those are some HOTT SHOES. I HATE YOU.

A nice headband or flower in the bun could also be nice.

Reply
5/14/2013 01:46:38 pm

So depending on where the wedding is, that dress looks like it could be kind of hot (outdoor wedding in the south in june, eg, calls for sleeveless or capped sleeves). Searching 1920s on modcloth found me this: http://www.modcloth.com/shop/dresses/all-that-pizzazz-dress

Not in budget at all, but it's navy, so maybe you'd get more wear out of it?

Reply
5/15/2013 12:48:16 am

I love that dress Gail! If that had been in the budget, I definitely would have recommended it!! :-)

Reply
9/24/2014 03:35:10 pm

My first question is whether it's appropriate for the wedding? I'm particularly worried about the color - is it too light/close to white? If it's appropriate, how would you style it? In particular, what about shoes?

Reply



Leave a Reply.