Reader LM takes the bow before the event and asks:

Hello TCFKAG! Found you through Corporette (longtime reader/lurker) and I have a fashion question for you... I know I am super-late to the party, but I have been wanting some tie-neck blouses to wear tucked into pencil skirts at work or with skinny jeans and heels at night. I like the styles that tie up high - e.g., closer to the neck rather than the boobs (if that makes sense). Can you help me find some reasonably priced, cute options, preferably under $60? I am open to solid-colored or patterned. I am about a size 8 (usually M). Thanks in advance!

Let me first thank you profusely for NOT calling them by the other name that shall not be used for these blouses that I frankly think is gross and icky and I react to it like some people react to the word moist.  So - yeah - lets stick with tie-neck blouses, shall we.  And as far as missing the boat, if you missed the boat, then everyone else who's wearing them right now missed the boat by a couple of decades, so missing the boat by a year is just a blip really and hardly can be called super-late.  Fashionably late, sure, but that's the way to be, right?  Moving on to the actual CLOTHES now.  Lets find some blouse that shall not be named.  As a warning, at that price point most of your options will likely be polyester or poly blends, but I'll try to do my best to find some deals on real silk or silk blends too.   

Picture
I'm on a total How I Met Your Mother kick tonight, don't ask me why. These things just happen.
One more quick note about shopping for tie-neck blouses - many if not most of the tie necks are in fact adjustable, so they can either be tied higher up at the neckline or lower at the boob area (for lack of a better term) so what you see on the website is a styling choice of the retailer and not the exclusive way the shirt can be worn.  So you want to double check those product details if you see a tie shirt you like but its tied in the wrong place. 
9 & Co. Solid Tie Neck in Summer Straw at JC Penney ($25 - really for a basic neutral for under blazers or suits - the price sure is right.)
Freeway polka-dot tie-neck blouse from Dillard's ($35.40 - long sleeves and polka dots - yay!  Polyester, yes, but machine washable...so that's nice.)
Max Studio Georgette Tie Neck Blouse in Red at Loehmann's ($39.99 - I adore the v-shaped detailing on this shirt behind the bow and the sleeves and the color.  The tie is low but PRETTY.)
Sleeveless tie-neck blouse in mint green at Calvin Klein ($34 with additional 30% off at check out - poly-blend - love love love - simple, understated, and gives the tie neck the pride of place.  Also comes in a brighter blue.)
Geo Print Bow Blouse from The Limited ($49.50 plus 50% off tops with code - made of silk crepe de chine - I l.o.v.e this print and though the bow may be low, I wonder if its adjustable OR if a tailor could add hook and eye closure to raise it a smidge.  Either way, I think this is my favorite.)
Tie Neck Polyester Blouse in Lemonade at Vince Camuto ($79.00 - new product, I'd wait for sale, but how perfect is a bright yellow blouse for summer?  Perfect under navy or with gray or white - I love this.)
Bow Tie Blouse in black/camelia multi at Ann Klein ($49 - luck sizes only, but includes yours.  Least helpful model picture ever - but looks really cute and great print.)
Nine West Platinum Charmeuse Tie-Neck Blouse at the Bon Ton ($34.98 - ummmm, I think it might be great for an office Christmas party under a black glittery blazer or with a red pencil skirt and black cardi. Its glitz without GLITZ, definitely tie the bow differently.)
So!  I hope these options give you a few ideas to add a little new flare to your summer wardrobe.  Who doesn't like adding a bow to their clothes.  Its like you're a gift that you get to unwrap at night (or someone ELSE gets to unwrap....BAZINGA.)  Man, the dorky tv references are flying fast and hard tonight.  Think that's a sign its time for me to log off.  Well, LM, please come back in the comments and let me know how you make out.  

AND TO MY OTHER READERS, THE CONTEST ENDS TOMORROW AT MIDNIGHT.  HAVE YOU ENTERED?  IF SO, YOU NEED NEED NEED TO SEND ME AN E-MAIL AT [email protected].  BECAUSE DESPITE MY BEST EFFORTS AFTER READING MATILDA AS A CHILD, I HAVE NEITHER TELEPATHY NOR TELEKINESIS.  SO ENTER!  WIN!  LET ME SHOP FOR YOU PERSONALLY!!  (AND REMEMBER - FACEBOOK COUNTS.  AND IF YOU HAVE NO SOCIAL MEDIA, YOU COULD EVEN SEND AN E-MAIL TO SOME OF YOUR NEAREST AND DEAREST FRIENDS.)  


okay....no more big letters they scare me.  good night all.  good night moon.  good night girl in the polka-dot balloon.
LM
5/31/2013 02:17:45 am

TCFKAG - you are the BEST! Not only did you kick this post off with a gif from my favorite TV show, but you also found the most beautiful blouses - exactly what I am looking for. I am coveting that geo print pick from the Limited. Off to purchase ASAP. Thanks again!

Reply
8/29/2022 06:02:44 pm

https://guvenbozum.com/

Reply



Leave a Reply.