Reader MJ submitted to my Tumblr and asked:

Hey--MJ from Corporette. I am looking for a white denim jean/pencil skirt which is on the longer side (e.g. not a miniskirt or short pencil skirt). Need size 14. Go! Love the new blog!

First, may I salute your brevity in question asking MJ.  Short, sweet, and to the point.  I'm assuming you probably mean something with an a-line cut or at least a not to tight pencil skirt (I find tight pencil skirt jean skirts to be wildly uncomfortable.)  I may also throw in a couple options in other casual fabrics (maybe a linen or cotton) just in case there are some great options in non-denim jeans.  All that being said - lets get to work!  (Oh - and thanks for reading the blog and the tumblr - I love all my readers!)
FDJ French Dressing Stretch Denim Skirt in white from Sierra Trading Company ($27.96 - I love the more relaxed cut and length on this and the stretch denim should be comfortable - but read the reviews, they aren't universally positive.)
Jag Jeans Maddock Pull-On White Denim Skirt at Zappos ($52 - I love this brand and this is a bit a-line, could be a winner.)
JNY Signature Denim Skirt at Jones New York ($59 - may be too pencil skirt for you, but its lovely.)
Eddie Bauer Slightly Curvy White Denim Skirt at Eddie Bauer ($49.95 - so, one hitch on this one or else it would be my first choice ever...the size 14 is sold out.  Reviews say it runs a bit large so you could try a 12 or, if you like it enough, you could buy the 16 and have it taken in.  Either way, this seems to be precisely what you're looking for!) 
Three Dots Red Women's Skirt in linen at Amazon ($80 - I know this isn't denim, but for the relaxed fit and length you like, it might be worth a look see.)
Alex Marie Lily Washable Skirt at Dillards ($89 - it is stretch twill, not denim, but the shape is beautiful and its machine washable - can't go wrong there.)
Essential Eyelet Skirt from Forever 21 ($19.80 - posting this because the pencil skirt looks more relaxed, no white skirt post is complete without an eyelet option, and the price is totally right ... especially if you think this is going to be a "sometimes wear" item.)
Stretch-Cotton Zipper Pencil Skirt at Lord & Taylor ($79 - I like the shape since its a more structured a-line and cotton is a great fabric for summer.  Might beat out denim in my book.)
Calvin Klein Tweed Pencil Skirt at Lord & Taylor ($89.50 - this is probably not ideal for you Reader MJ - but I'm posting it for my readers who might want a more business casual or networking appropriate pencil skirt.  I don't even mind the exposed zipper!  Tips for those of you looking for these items, Ann Taylor, the Limited, and WHBM have a bunch of other beautiful white pencil skirts right now if you want to add that item to your work wardrobe.)

Okay MJ....I hope these help.  Perhaps you'll think outside the denim box?  Though I think these denim options are kind of great.  I personally cannot purchase any of these because they would have coffee, tomato sauce, or some other destructive material on them by the end of the day.  So I salute you in your ability to wear white.  Go forth and shop dear reader.



Leave a Reply.